The Last Thursday of Spring!!

Well it has been a pleasure writing to you all, this semester! I figured I would save my favorite short story, for last. I find that Frank O’Connor does a magnificent job in creating a story that a large audience can relate to. The short story I’m talking about is “First Confession”.

The story surrounds a young boy and readers quickly realize how people try to manipulate with money and fear. I find that this is a great topic to write about because reaching an audience is one of the most important keys to writing. If no one is listening then your goal to get a message across becomes thwarted. Of course having the story told  by a 7 year old makes it a little humorous and dramatic.

An excerpt from the story: “ALL THE TROUBLE BEGAN WHEN MY GRANDFATHER DIED and my grandmother–my father’s mother–came to live with us…Now, girls are supposed to be fastidious, but I was the one who suffered most from this. Nora, my sister, just sucked up to the old woman for the penny she got every Friday out of the old-age pension, a thing I could not do. I was too honest, that was my trouble; and when I was playing with Bill Connell, the sergeant-major’s son, and saw my grandmother steering up the path with the jug of porter sticking out from beneath her shawl I was mortified”

I hope you all feel inclined to go and read this story because it will not disappoint! It has been a pleasure writing for you all semester but I think it’s time I take a break from writing and catch up on my summer readings!!

-DD

Leave a Reply

