All the Light We Cannot See

Welcome back to Thirsty Thursday!! Being an English major, I try to read as much as I can. There is so much knowledge in literature and always something to be learned. With that said, I just completed The Alchemist and now I am reading All the Light We Cannot See. For those unaware of what All the Light We Cannot See is about, I will give a short introduction.

The Story focuses around a blind girl–Marie-Laure Leblanc–and an orphan boy–Werner Pfennig. Leblanc has a replica of Paris to help her really see the city due to her inability to use her actual eyes. Her father innovates and shows her how to see with her hands instead. He also teaches her to be independent and to rise above sticky situations. Specifically being that her and her father must flee Paris when the Nazi begin to occupy it. They head for her uncles house in the walled citadel of Saint-Malo. This is where the story begins.

As I get more and more connected with Leblanc, I am finding that I can sometimes forget that a world exists outside of my own world. I also find that instead of kicking rocks there is something to be said about innovation in life.

Back to the story… Werner. An orphan boy later turned Nazi as a result of his expertise in creating and repairing apparatuses. With little to no knowledge of the outside world this orphan boy just goes with the flow that is the Nazi. However, as the story treads on we find that Werner starts to think more and more for himself. He also starts to question what he is doing and what the Nazi’s are doing to others….

Eventually Werner’s and Leblanc’s stories will intersect.

Reading further and further into the book, I start to treasure my life and the people in it more and more. In addition to my new found love for my surroundings, I also am reminding myself daily about how important it is to be kind. Just be kind. Even more now than ever.

 

-DD

 

Leave a Reply

