The Art Of Losing

Welcome back to another Poetry Wednesday! I hope everyone is having a great week so far. Today, I will be sharing a Villanelle poem One Art by Elizabeth Bishop.

I came across this poem when I went into the office hours of my professor to get a better understanding of our class. Reading this poem required me to reread it many times to have a greater understanding of it. In this poem it’s saying that losing something isn’t that hard to master. Losing is something that we all generally do as we go along with life. We’ve all lost something that we had before, whether if it was an item, a place, or even a person we still move on. Even after losing something we tend to complain about it, but did you lose yourself? It’s bad of me for saying this, but losing something can always only lead to greater things.

https://www.poets.org/poetsorg/poem/one-art

 

-JL

Leave a Reply

